On the road again

This afternoon I am on my way to Birmingham to visit my friend, Gail, and her family.  Kinda funny how this trip seems to be all about Gail, Gayle and Gail! Two aunts and a friend with the same name.

I just spent two hours talking with Dr. Gambill, the retiring journalism department chair at Arkansas State. I really enjoyed talking with him. He has so much knowledge of everything.

He is one of those really special people who has had an impact on a lot of lives, and has done so without any bluster or fanfare – just a simple passion for good journalism.

Here’s a picture from his retirement reception in April. He’s the one wearing the flower. Staci, on the left, graduated the same year I did, and Dr. Shipman, was another of my favorite professors. He’s retired now, too.

Leave a Reply

