Has it really been 10 years?

I can’t believe it has been 10 years since the new Harley-Davidson store in Biloxi held its grand opening.

Bands performed throughout the warm October night – a Friday the 13th mind you – with Big Brother and the Holding Company headlining the evening’s entertainment.

For those of you who don’t know, Big Brother was a band in the 1960s based in San Francisco – my hometown. The band was well-known for its heavy rock and lengthy, psychedelic guitar solos.

The band was joined by legendary singer Janis Joplin, and the rest is history.

Even though Janis left the band and later died of a drug overdose – gawd that was 40 years ago – the Janis/Big Brother phenomenon continues.

Through a series of coincidences, I ended up singing one song – just on backup – with Big Brother at the Harley-Davidson event.

My friend and neighbor at the time, Lisa Mills, had been recommended to Big Brother via Sam Andrew’s girlfriend, who was from Pascagoula. She invited me and our other friend, Cheri Salvetti, to join her on stage to sing “Chain of Fools”.

That was one of the biggest moments of my life. I know it wasn’t a real gig, and I only sang backup on one song – an Aretha Franklin hit, not a Janis one – but to be on the same stage with a band I had admired ever since I can remember is something that will never be forgotten.

I wish I had pictures from that night. No one with a camera had anything decent turn out since it was so dark there. But someone at the event wrote a great review of the show, so I can at least share that link as a reminder.

Click here to read the review.

Thanks, Lisa. Thanks, Sam. Thanks, David and Peter. Thanks, Coast Harley. I had a wonderful night.

Leave a Reply

