Day 6: An unexpected celebration

My friend, Bonnie, has been a source of sanity and respite in the months since my father was diagnosed with lung and liver cancer.

Tonight we went for a late dinner at Lazzari’s in Jonesboro. I had some scrumptious seafood pasta with a heavy cream sauce. I know I should have ordered something more healthy, but for heaven’s sake, my father just died, and I had driven almost 2,000 miles in two days with little sleep, so I needed a break from good health.

I really needed something indulgent tonight, so I ordered it. And ate about a third of what was on my plate. Generous as well as delicious.

Bonnie surprised me and treated me to dinner. That was really nice of her. I guess I can count this now as one of my 50 birthday celebrations.

Six down, 44 to go. Thanks, Bonnie!

Leave a Reply

