Winter is here at last

Last night the temperatures finally dipped below freezing, and there was a crisp chill in the air all day. This is the weather we’ve all been waiting for. A hint of winter. It will be cold the next couple of days, but will start to warm up again Thursday.

To celebrate the arrival of winter, and to treat myself to a little comfort food, I had a bowl of the corn and crab chowder Siobhan brought me last night. It was delicious!

Neither of the kids is home, so I got to eat the chowder while it was still hot, and without half a dozen interruptions. I curled up with a book – oddly enough I find myself reading Victor Hugo‘s “Les Misérables,” I think because my daughter and I were having a discussion about the book a few weeks ago. First time reading it in English! And via Kindle (hint: it’s free).

I have to say, I love my friends. Thanks, Siobhan, for a wonderful dinner! And thanks, Fiona, for a great book recommendation.

Corn and Crab Chowder

3 cups fresh corn kernels

1/2 cup carrots, cubed

1/2 cup celery, diced

1 medium onion, chopped

1 cup clam juice

1 cup fish stock

2 cups lump crabmeat

1 stick butter

1 1/2 cup heavy cream

Salt and pepper to taste

Heat butter in a large pot; sauté onions, carrots and celery until onions and celery are translucent. Add clam juice and fish stock; bring to a boil then reduce heat. Simmer for 5 minutes. Add cream. Stir in corn, crab, salt and pepper. Simmer for another 5 to 10 minutes or until desired texture and consistency is reached.

2 thoughts on “Winter is here at last

  1. Looks and sounds great! We could really use something like that up here (it’s 12 degrees). I’m guessing “winter” in Mississippi is relative!

Leave a Reply

