Double rainbow makes my day

I love the days when I happen upon something unexpected – and unexpectedly beautiful, like a nice sunset, a shooting star or a rainbow.

Yesterday was one of those days.

I was restless and needed to get out of the house so I begged my friend Siobhan to drive around with me. No plans, just get out of the house!

We took our dogs to the park and they ran around for a good bit before it started raining. I still wasn’t ready to go home so we drove around before deciding to get something to eat.

We stopped at the bank so she could withdraw some cash from the ATM, and as we pulled out of the parking lot there was the most perfect rainbow. Then we realized that there was a second rainbow right above it!

20120110-065311.jpg

I haven’t seen that very often so I has to stop and snap a few pictures. I posted one to Facebook and immediately drew response from friends far and wide. I think I got the most ‘likes’ for that photo than I have for anything else I’ve posted on Facebook – ever.

I also shared it on Twitter and Google+ to some degree of interest.

While sharing on Facebook got me a lot of accolades, the picture on Google+ also brought me a learning experience I’ll never forget.

That’s what I love about Google+. It is one vast learning experience, although I think this was a lesson I could live without.

A colleague, Tyler, responded to my photo with “What does it mean?” I knew he wasn’t serious but I had no idea what he was talking about so I responded with a safe answer. “I don’t really know, but …”

So then he had to let me in on the secret. It sure was funny, and I had to share it with my other friends, but from here on out I will never look at rainbows the same ever again.

If you want to get in on the joke, you have to watch this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQSNhk5ICTI. There’s no way to describe it. You have to see it for yourself.

Tyler also shared a follow-up to the first video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MX0D4oZwCsA.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

