Football, food and friends

This afternoon I went to a friend’s house to watch the Saints vs. 49ers game. I am a longtime 49ers fan since San Francisco is my hometown, but I also like the New Orleans Saints, my other hometown team.

I spent the morning worrying about how I was going to cheer on the 49ers and the Saints at the same time. Of course I wanted the 49ers to win, but I didn’t want the Saints to lose! thegirls.jpg

It turns out I was worried for nothing. What a great time we had! Everyone knew I love the 49ers so whenever they cheered the Saints, they would end it with “Sorry” at the end. And when I cheered the Niners, I added the “Sorry” note, too.

Kind of a funny way to watch a football game, but it did lighten the intense, competitive post-season playoff mood.

Oh, and I forgot to mention, the party was for girls only. That changed things up a little. Instead of beer, we drank wine. Instead of hot dogs and hamburgers fresh off the grill, we had things like trail mix, hummus, fresh biscuits and a cheese plate.

lucia.jpgWe talked about this and that, and kept one eye on the TV at the same time to make sure we didn’t miss out on anything.

The mood was pretty relaxed until the fourth quarter – that’s when most of the action happened! It was back and forth until the very last few seconds, but my 49ers were victorious.

It was a bittersweet moment, as the season is now over for the Saints. We packed up our food, and got sent home with leftovers, and I am now left to cheer on the 49ers by myself.

 

 

Leave a Reply

