Farmers market fare is colorful

When I visit my friend Melon, I like to cook for her – mostly because she likes my cooking! So I always try to make it fun and memorable.

This last trip I brought some veggies from the farmers market in my town: acorn squash, beets, kale. I think buying local and buying fresh makes for better tasting food. I brought some organic quinoa polenta, too.

It looked to me like I could make a really good vegan meal with these ingredients (although it would have very little protein).

It was a very filling meal, and right around 350 calories (quinoa, 80; kale, 45; beets, 80; squash, 85; olive oil & etc., 60).

I will share the recipes here, but not in the traditional format since these are very basic – and very few ingredients. I don’t list quantities on this kind of thing, because it is easy enough for you to figure out how much of everything is right for you.

I started with the roasted vegetables because this takes the most time. I first peeled the beets and cut them into about 1-inch pieces. I brushed them with oil on all sides then sprinkled lightly with kosher salt.

Beets take a long time to cook, so I put them in the oven first – 375 degrees, by the way. Leave them in for about 25-30 minutes.

When the beets were in the oven, I cut the acorn squash in half (or quarters, depending on size), and scoop out the seed area. You can peel the squash before you cut it up, but it isn’t easy with all of the grooves on it. And the rind is edible if cooked long enough.

Again, brush the squash with olive oil and sprinkle a little kosher salt. I put them in the same baking dish as the beets, so they can cook together for another 35-40 minutes (take them out when they are fork tender).

In the meantime, open the polenta and put it in a sauce pan. Add about 1 cup liquid. This time I used vegetable stock, but you can also use soy or almond milk for a creamier effect. Use a wooden spoon to break up the polenta. Stir over medium heat until it is smooth and about the consistency of mashed potatoes. Keep stirring or the polenta will burn. Remove from heat when done.

To make the kale, first wash it thoroughly and let it drain. Chop a few cloves of garlic and sauté in olive oil. Add in the kale and sauté for a couple minutes more. Add about 1/4 cup water, cover and let simmer for about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in a little lemon juice and fresh ground pepper.

That’s pretty much it. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Farmers market fare is colorful

  1. So…..your quinoa polenta has quinoa and corn, or is it just cooked like polenta, but is really just quinoa?

Leave a Reply

