Emerging spring, winter fruit

Minneola tangeloI stopped at my local grocery store this morning to pick up some fruit for breakfast, and saw these Minneola tangelos. I had to take a picture because the fruit looked so beautiful in the soft morning light.

A tangelo, from what I’ve read, is a cross between a tangerine and a pomelo – an Asian fruit similar to grapefruit. The odd shape comes from the pomelo, but otherwise looks and feels like a tangerine.

As you can imagine, it was quite tart but had enough sweetness to balance it.

It seems winter fruits are mostly colorful citrus: oranges, tangerines, satsumas. I wonder if that is why they have thick skins. Kiwi also is a colorful winter fruit. Is that considered a citrus, too? It sure has the tartness of citrus.

I’m thinking I’d like to try the minneolas in a couple of recipes. Probably something Asian, since it has that touch of sweetness.

I’ll keep you posted on what I come up with.

Leave a Reply

