I am a fan of beetroot hummus

Beetroot HummusI love roasted beets, but they have such a distinct, robust flavor that I often find it difficult to pair with other foods. Still, I like to try recipes that highlight this amazing vegetable.

Beetroot is full of nutrients without a load of calories or fat. The roots and greens can both be used. It is a source of vitamins A and C, but it also has a small amount of protein, iron and calcium, believe it or not. Diabetics should be aware that beetroot has a fair amount of sugar/carbohydrates.

If you buy the whole beets, you can make a salad with beet greens and arugula that pairs nicely with the hummus. Keep the dressing simple – a light vinegar and olive oil, perhaps with a little Dijon mustard.

I buy the beets from local farmers when I go to the farmers market. But there were no beets today. The recent heavy rains and storms flooded the farm and the beets all drowned. I found some at the little organic store near where I work.

Anyway, back to the wonderfully rich flavor of beets … I found a hummus recipe with a beetroot base that I thought I must try. I figure I can serve it on its own as an appetizer so it won’t be fighting other foods.

I found the recipe on About.com. This is my adaptation. I hope you like it.

Side note:  I use disposable latex gloves when handling beets so they don’t stain my hands.

Beetroot hummus
4 medium beets
2 tablespoons tahini
4-6 large mint leaves
Zest of 1 minneola
Juice of 1/2 minneola
1 clove garlic, chopped
1 tablespoon ground cumin
1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon Kosher salt
Fresh-ground pepper to taste
Mint leaves for garnish

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Wash beets, cut in half and brush with olive oil. Place in a baking dish and bake for about an hour or until fork tender. If you like, you can turn them over midway through cooking. Let cool enough to handle. Peel and cube. Place beets and remaining ingredients in a food processor and pulse until you get the desired texture. Serve with pita slices, tortilla chips, crostini, etc.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here is a link to the original recipe: http://video.about.com/localfoods/How-to-Make-Beet-Hummus.htm.

3 thoughts on “I am a fan of beetroot hummus

  1. Pingback: Beetroot Patties | Femmehavenn

  2. Pingback: Cooking Beets | jovinacooksitalian

  3. Pingback: Carrot and beet root salad | cookingwithsapana

Leave a Reply

