Have you ever heard of yam noodles?

Yam Noodle Stir Fry

NOTE: Sorry for the repost but somehow or another this had gotten deleted. Luckily I was able to fish it out and post it again.

We have two Asian food markets. I love shopping at those stores because I find interesting things there. I don’t always find things I’d like to eat, and there are some things I’d like to try but I don’t know what they are.

I spotted some yam noodles once in the refrigerated section. Just the name intrigued me, and I love their rolled up appearance.  When you heat the noodles (this variety comes pre-cooked) you can cut the outer noodle to loosen the bundles and have traditional style noodles.

For this recipe I left the noodles bundled. They are easier to eat with chopsticks that way.

The yam noodle, also known as a konjac noodle, allegedly has very few calories, and is high in fiber. It has some minerals and protein, and is gluen free. It has a somewhat rubbery texture, but I like its firmness.

I keep a bag of frozen edamame and mixed vegetables for occasions when I want something like this. I just toss them into the stir fry and they heat up in no time.

Yam noodle stir fry

1 tablespoon coconut oil

1 clove garlic, minced

1 tablespoon ginger, minced

1 cup frozen edamame and vegetable mix

1/2 cup vegetable broth

Juice of 1/2 lime

1 teaspoon light soy sauce (optional)

1 teaspoon sriracha (optional)

1 package pre-cooked yam noodles, rinsed thoroughly

Heat coconut oil in a wok or nonstick frying pan. Add garlic and ginger, stirring to prevent burning. Add in vegetable broth and edamame/vegetable mix. Stir in lime juice, soy sauce and sriracha. When heated, toss in yam noodles (whole or unraveled) and cook for a minute or two.

Leave a Reply

