What can you do with edamame?

Edamame spread

I recently went to a Purim party at our local Jewish temple. I’m not Jewish, but I have Jewish friends, so I attend events with them on occasion.

This was my first Purim party. It was silly and fun. But one thing I walked away with was a great new love for edamame.

I had only eaten it as a fresh-cooked bean. Warm and lightly salted. But someone had made a sandwich with a really nice edamame spread that I fell in love with.

I searched for a similar recipe and found this one by Martha Stewart that is close to the one I tried at the Purim party. I ramped up the garlic and lemon from Martha’s recipe, and added chopped pecans to the mix.

Edamame spread

Coarse salt and ground pepper

2 cups frozen shelled edamame

Edamame5 large garlic cloves, chopped

2 teaspoons light olive oil

Zest of 1 lemon

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Salt and pepper to tasted

1/4 cup finely chopped pecans (optional)

Put edamame in a mixing bowl and let thaw for about half an hour. Saute garlic in olive oil, then add to thawed edamame. Add lemon zest and juice then pulse in a food processor until desired consistency is reached (or use a stick blender instead). If needed, thin by adding water one tablespoon at a time. Stir in salt and pepper and pecans (optional). Serve with radishes (or other vegetables) or rice crackers or tortilla chips.

Original recipe: http://www.marthastewart.com/318754/edamame-spread

Leave a Reply

