Carrot spread with a kick

Spicy carrot spread

I like flavorful foods, but I especially like flavorful foods with a little heat to them.

I bought some organic carrots and wanted to do something different with them. I dug around for recipes until I found one I thought I would like on food.com.

I modified it to suit my taste, and it was a big hit at the little party we had to celebrate the last day of the social media class I was teaching at the Osher Lifelong Learning Center in Hattiesburg.

You can serve this with chips or crackers or spread it on a slice of bread cut into quarters and make open-faced finger sandwiches. You can also serve it as a side dish or just eat it as it is.

Spicy carrot spread

8 carrots

1/2 medium onion, chopped

IMG_17143 cloves garlic, chopped

2 tablespoons light olive oil

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

Salt and pepper to taste

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoon ancho chili powder

1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Blanch carrots in boiling water for about 5 minutes. Saute onion and garlic in olive oil until translucent. Drain carrots and place in large baking dish with onion and garlic mixture. Toss in soy sauce and balsamic vinegar. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast in oven for 15 to 20 minutes or until fork tender. Let cool then place in a food processor, adding cumin, chili powder and cilantro. Pulse again until desired consistency is reached. I like to add in another tablespoon or so of chopped cilantro after I’m done pulsing to freshen the color a little. Drizzle in a little more olive oil or balsamic vinegar if needed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Original recipe: http://www.food.com/recipe/spicy-roasted-carrot-spread-399141

2 thoughts on “Carrot spread with a kick

Leave a Reply

