Roasted golden beet soup

20140429-231518.jpg

I found some golden beets when I went to Whole Foods (they also had some at Rainbow Co-op). I knew I must buy some, but I didn’t cook them until today.

I wanted to make a soup since the weather has been horrid the last couple of days. The thought of something hearty and warm cheered me up as I prepped the beets and put them in the oven.

But after working in a hot kitchen for more than an hour, I decided to chill the soup instead.

I love the contrast of the sweet beets to the savory greens. It makes every spoonful an adventure.

This is adapted from a recipe on epicurious.com. I served it with an olive hummus and raw green beans.

Roasted golden beet soup
4 golden beets with greens
2 tablespoons fresh minced ginger
3/4 cup chopped onion
3 cloves garlic, minced
Juice and zest of 1 lemon
Kosher salt to taste
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 cups unsalted vegetable stock

Wash beets. Remove greens and set aside. Peel the beetroot and cut into 1 1/4- inches pieces. Place in a baking dish and toss in 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil. Sprinkle with kosher salt. Place in a preheated 400-degree oven for about 45 minutes. While beets are in the oven, sauté ginger, onion and garlic in remaining olive oil using a 1-quart saucepan. Reserve 2/3 of the mixture for the soup.

Rough chop the beet greens (I added some spinach and chard since I had a little left in the fridge). Add to the ginger/onion/garlic mix and sauté until leaves are wilted. Stir in 1/4 cup vegetable stock, letting it warm up, then remove from heat and set aside for a few minutes to cool. Purée with an immersion blender. Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Remove beets from oven. They should be soft, but not quite fork-tender. Put the remaining 2/3 ginger/onion/garlic mix and the beets in a 2-quart saucepan and let heat up, stirring in the remaining vegetable stock and a pinch of salt (you can add more later, if needed). Let dimmer about 20 minutes. Remove from heat. Stir in lemon juice and zest. Let cool a little, then purée in a blender or food processor.

If serving hot, return to saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring often to avoid burning on the bottom. If serving chilled, cover and let soup cool to room temperature before serving (you can place bowl of soup on top of a bowl of ice to chill further if desired).

Place in individual bowls then spoon a little puréed greens on top before serving.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Roasted golden beet soup

  1. Nice presentation, Lici. It looks wonderful but I haven’t overcome “yuck, beets” , from my childhood I’ll just enjoy this recipe with my eyes.

Leave a Reply

