Butternut squash hummus is a collage of flavor

Butternut Squash Hummus

I bought some butternut squash to make some soup, since after all it is early February, and it should be cold, right?

Well, we’ve had temperatures in the 60s and 70s – one day it was even in the 80s. Not much soup weather this winter.

So when I stumbled across this recipe for Butternut Squash Humus on Facebook via Bob’s Red Mill, I thought it might be more appropriate than soup to share with my friends.

The original recipe is on the Seattle Times’ website. I made the hummus, then toasted some whole wheat pita bread triangles for dipping.

Here is the original recipe: http://seattletimes.com/html/foodwine/2013380806_xmashummus10.html

I deviated a little, using fresh garbanzo beans instead of canned. I also added lemon zest and the juice of a whole lemon instead of the 3 tablespoons lemon juice called for in the recipe.

I try to use organic products whenever possible, not only because they are grown without chemicals, but I find they have much more flavor.

Since I was out of coriander, I used cumin instead. Then I added extra cilantro and cayenne.

Here is my version:

Butternut Squash Hummus

1/2 cup dry garbanzo beans

1 small butternut squash, about 2 1/2 pounds

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil, more or less to your taste

2 large cloves garlic, minced

Zest and juice of one whole lemon

1/4 cup tahini

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

Soak garbanzo beans in water for about two hours. Then cook garbanzos for about 25 to 30 minutes or until done. Let cool.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Wash and halve the butternut squash, removing the strings and seeds (in these pictures, I cut up the squash before cooking as the recipe said. I think it is easier to remove squash from the skin from the halves). Place cut side up in a ceramic baking dish, lightly greased with olive oil. Brush with olive oil and roast in the oven for 1 1/2 hours or until squash is fork tender. Remove from oven, let cool. Scoop squash out of skin with a spoon.

Place garbanzos, squash and remaining ingredients in a food processor and pulse until well blended.

Suggested garnishes: olive oil for drizzling, chopped parsley or cilantro and pomegranate seeds.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “Butternut squash hummus is a collage of flavor

  1. Pingback: Savory Butternut Squash Bake - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Slow Cooked Butternut Squash & Apricot Stew « Brooklyn Locavore

  3. Pingback: Butternut Squash Soup Sautéed Apples and Rosemary Flowers | Spoon Feast

  4. Pingback: Butternut Squash Olive Oil Bread | Simply Sophisticated Cooking

  5. Pingback: Mario Makes Butternut Squash Ravioli | Gracie's Ravioli

Leave a comment